Celtic Author Tent

May 13, 2017


David Quinn

It May Be Forever is a nineteenth century tale of adventure and tragedy, based upon the real-life story of Michael Quinn. To escape the poverty of Ireland’s Great Famine, Michael’s family flees to England, where at age eight, Michael becomes a laborer in a textile mill. As he grows older, he is motivated to enlist with the Fenian rebels, a group determined to free Ireland from British rule. However, defeat on the battlefield lands him on the untamed plains of the American Wild West. Michael quickly abandons the fight against oppression and turns away from family and friends, in hopes of achieving a great fortune. This is a cautionary tale, which shows how easily a man of strong convictions may become that which he hates.

“Let it be said first that It May Be Forever: An Irish Rebel on the American Frontier is an excellent, very enjoyable book which would win the highest rating if we did that kind of thing at SPR…. It is a fascinating tale and the depth of the author’s research evident, although he avoids the rookie trap of becoming hostage to it and boring the reader. The writing is first rate… Anyone who enjoys a good read will enjoy this book. ”  Francis Hamit – The Self-Publishing Review 
quinn2

In 1830 Hugh McKenna, a widowed farmer and father of eleven, left his home in Ireland’s County Tyrone for economic survival in Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania. Arriving in Quebec on a “timber ship”, Hugh and the family walked the twelve hundred miles to a new life in the raucous, burgeoning gateway to the American West. Thus began nearly a hundred years of trial and triumph for Hugh’s widowed daughter-in-law Annie, and two of her sons, Bernard and Charles. Through ethnic and religious discrimination, financial struggle, fire, civil war, flood, labor unrest, political corruption and reform, they met their challenges with fortitude and civic devotion. Whether defending the Union from Antietam to Appomattox or helping to build a new industrial and political order, the McKenna men and their remarkable mother are emblematic of the many contributions Irish-Americans have made to a great city and a great nation.

Steel Shamrocks is a journey of the heart…. The author makes the story fascinating, even though we are familiar with it:  Irish immigrants work hard and achieve their dreams…. David Quinn, the author, does this by creating dialogue that is almost magical, and we quickly become closely involved with the persons in the story. Quinn writes gracefully and with a novelist’s soul…Steel Shamrocks is about one family, but all of our ancestors were steel shamrocks or we wouldn’t be here.”   Frank West—Irish American News


Patty Koontz

“Coming from a family of storytellers, Patty Koontz feels blessed to carry on her beloved
Irish Mum’s belief in the wee people and fairies, and her love for her Irish and Scottish heritage.
Patty truly believes that her loveable “Wee Darby” character, was a special gift from her Mum,
to remind her of her fondest childhood memories.  And now, with the help of “Wee Darby”, and
“Kalista – the tiny dragon”;  she’ll never lose the magic planted deep within her heart, so many years ago.”
Patty and Wee Darby on Facebook:   https://www.facebook.com/patty.koontz.98
     where Wee Darby has his own page:  Wee Darby and his Magical Friends

Ben Anderson

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/McGunnegalChronicles

Blog: http://mcgunnegalchronicles.wordpress.com/

The McGunnegals are all strange, and it has been that way for generations. They are too strong, or too fast, or too smart, and odd things happened when they are around. The neighbors say they are witches or devils, or have been snatched by changelings. Mothers hold their children close when they walk by, fearing they might catch the McGunnegal strangeness. 

But when a doorway to the world of the Others is found in their great grandfather’s potato cellar, two of the children fall through, and find themselves in a land where all of their strangeness will be needed to rescue its people from the dark things that have enslaved it. 

There they also discover why they are so different, and what it means to be truly human. 

The Strange Land Trilogy is a compilation of the first three books in The McGunnegal Chronicles series, including “Into a Strange Land”, “Taming the Goblin”, and “The Witch and the Waking Tree”.

In the tradition of C. S. Lewis, J. R. R. Tolkien, George MacDonald, and John Bunyan, comes a must-read tale of adventure and mystery that reaches into the depths of Irish legend, stirs the imagination, and touches the heart.

Ben Anderson – Author, song writer, guitarist, husband, father, rock climber, backpacker, and Orthodox Christian.


 Frances PowellFrances Powell

Ms. Powell lives outside Baltimore, Maryland with her husband, Russell, and Goldendoodle, Winston. Her love of Ireland and the magnificent Irish Wolfhounds inspired her ‘A Ballysea Mystery’ series. She is also the author of ‘The Bodyguard’, a tale of duty. betrayal, revenge and love during the time known as ‘The Troubles’ in Northern Ireland. As well as writing novels, she is a talented Technical Author with over 20 years experience.
The O'Brien: The Untold Story: A Ballysea Mystery by [Powell,Frances]


Patricia Hopper

Patricia Hopper Patteson, a native of Dublin, Ireland, and lives in West Virginia. Her debut novel, Kilpara, soon to be published by Bygone Era Books will be available in May 2015. She has published articles and short stories, both fiction and nonfiction in anthologies, reviews, and historical and women’s publications.


Patty Taylor

pattybanner

  

Patty Taylor, Author of Fantasy Romance – with a “wee bit” of “magick” from the heart.

           Raised as a “country girl” in Carroll County, Maryland, Patty fell in love with animals, books and the mystical world of magick from a small child. Her mother being born and raised in Northern Ireland, along with the discovery of her father having American Indian ancestry, her fascination for both cultures quickly led her imagination to run wild. Coming from a family of storytellers and growing up listening to tales of the charming wee ones, the mischievious leprechauns, and magical creatures including dragons, selkies, witches and more . . .  Patty’s thrilled to carry on the family tradition and her love for her Irish and Scottish heritage by writing stories with a wee bit of magcal lore woven with Highland Romance.  In her spare time, Patty can be found sitting beside one of her spinning wheels, blending exotic fibers . . . mixed with sheep, alpaca and samoyed undercoat.

        Patty-in-front-Castle-169x300

www.pattytaylorauthor.com 

                                              https://www.facebook.com/PattyTaylorAuthor                                            


 

Mercedes Rochelle

 

Mercedes Rochelle writes Historical Fiction about 11th Century Britain. Come witness the tumultuous events surrounding the Viking Invasion with Canute the Great and his heirs. Visit late Anglo-Saxon England with Earl Godwine, Harold Godwineson, and King Edward the Confessor; see Macbeth’s and Malcolm III’s Scotland, and watch events unfold leading to the Norman Conquest.

About HEIR TO A PROPHECY:

Shakespeare’s Witches tell Banquo, “Thou Shalt ‘Get Kings Though Thou Be None”. Although Banquo is murdered, his son Fleance gets away. What happened to Fleance? What Kings? As Shakespeare’s audience apparently knew, Banquo was the ancestor of the royal Stewart line. But the road to kingship had a most inauspicious beginning, and we follow Fleance into exile and death, bestowing the Witches’ prophecy on his illegitimate son Walter. Born in Wales and raised in disgrace, Walter’s efforts to understand Banquo’s murder and honor his lineage take him on a long and treacherous journey through England and France before facing his destiny in Scotland.

Also check out:  http://www.HistoricalBritainBlog.com


 

Dawn Marie Hamilton

Frederick Celtic Banner - DMH

Dawn Marie Hamilton dares you to dream. She is a 2013 RWA® Golden Heart® Finalist who pens Scottish-inspired fantasy and paranormal romance. Some of her tales are rife with mischief-making faeries, brownies, and other fae creatures. More tormented souls—shape shifters, vampires, and maybe a zombie or two—stalk across the pages of other stories. Her Highland Gardens Scottish historical fantasy romance series and Crimson Storm paranormal romance series are available in e-book and print. When not writing, she’s cooking, gardening, or paddling the local creeks of Southern Maryland with her husband.

Connect with Dawn Marie at:

Dawn Marie Hamilton Writes Blog         Twitter                 Facebook       Goodreads